Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 11, 2005, 10:45 PM   #1

hi all,

what type of lens would be suitable for shooting in extremely lowlight conditions? I have a digital rebel xt with the kit lens. I will be shooting mainly indoors in bars and club venues (for a nightlife newsletter in the Bay Area, CA). I need something fast that is able to capture a good amount of ambient light.

the only catch is, I don't have a large budget since I am still starting out. I wanna keep it under $300, the lower the better of course, without sacrificing quality.

How's the 50mm f1.8? any other suggestions?

thanks for your help guys
barnesquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2005, 11:47 PM   #2

canon ef 50mm usm 1.4

or ef 35mm usm 1.4

both great for indoors.
mugen76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 12:17 AM   #3
Super Moderator

canon 85mm 1.2... or 200mm 1.8...
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 12:18 AM   #4
Super Moderator

sorry.. didnt read the budget part.. 50 1.4 then..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2005, 1:55 AM   #5

barnesquared wrote:
Quote:
hi all,

what type of lens would be suitable for shooting in extremely lowlight conditions? I have a digital rebel xt with the kit lens. I will be shooting mainly indoors in bars and club venues (for a nightlife newsletter in the Bay Area, CA). I need something fast that is able to capture a good amount of ambient light.

the only catch is, I don't have a large budget since I am still starting out. I wanna keep it under $300, the lower the better of course, without sacrificing quality.

thanks for your help guys
Quote: