Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 12, 2005, 9:29 PM   #1

I recently bought an EOS 20d with the 17-85mm lens. I've never used a lens hood before, but it sounds like a necessary item. The Canon hood for this lens is petal-shaped. Is there a reason for that? Does anyone know if the hood works for both the wide angle and telephoto focal lengths? Any other reccomendations would be welcome.

thanks.

DigitalDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2005, 2:18 AM   #2

Well, my guess for it being petal is exactly because the lens covers wide to tele.

Normally a lens with a fixed length is really simple: just make a cylindrical hood and make sure you don't have it too long to interfere with the picture. However if you try to do something like that for the 17-85mm, your only possibility is a lens hood that can only be useful at 17mm. Although it still useful at the tele end, it's not nearly as effective as it could be.

From the pictures I keep seeing of petal hoods, it looks like the horizontal sides of the hood are shorter. This is probably made for the wide angle of the lens. The vertical sides of the hood is probably there for the tele.

Just a guess... but it seems to make sense to me... :?

I like guessing.
BoYFrMSpC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2005, 3:18 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Just a piece of advice - make sure you remove the hood when using the on-camera pop-up flash.

If you don't you get very large shadows in the picture at the wide end of the zoom. This is actually a bit of a problem - you wouldn't want to use the hood at night obviously.

But consider a backlit daytime subject - you want the hood because there might be light direct from the sun entering the lens, but if you use the hood you get big ugly shadows at the bottom of the picture.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2005, 12:34 PM   #4