Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 28, 2005, 10:40 AM   #1

Just got my Rebel XT a few weeks ago, and while I've been an enthusiastic digicam operator for a few years, I'm at the bottom of the learning curve in SLR land. I.e., beyond underdstanding the general principles of shutter vs aperture, and ISO film speeds, I haven't done much.

Based on a few web articles describing the Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens, I'm intrigued.

At the moment I still have the kit lens. I've already noticed a wide variation in sharpness and other issues based on focal length and aperture. Given that one primary category of subjects for me will be my two sons (a 22 month old and one due in Sept), I like the notion of a lens that:
  1. Is really good for portraits, and
    [/*]
  2. Performs well indoors (i.e., the f/1.8 rating)
    [/*]
On Dell.com I noticed that there's the $100 f/1.8 lens that I've read about. But there's also a f/1.4 USM model for quite a bit more ($350ish I think). So my questions:
  1. I presume the USM will give me better auto-focus performance. Worth it? I'm guessing not, but on the other hand, candids of two active boys might be helped by a speedier auto-focus.
    [/*]
  2. Is f/1.4 going to give me a noticable margin for low light situations?[/*]
Given that it's a fixed focal-length lens, and I'm at such an early stage, I'm guessing that the $100 lens will probably be the Right Thing(tm). But any thoughts or recommendations are most welcome.

davidyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2005, 11:34 AM   #2