Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 16, 2005, 4:51 PM   #1
CPV

Hello.

I am brand new to Digital SLR's. Haven't used an SLR since highschool (although not that long ago, I have forgotten nearly everything)

I have purchased the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT and some questions on the lenses.

What I plan to do.

Portraits (not from a professional level... yet)

Most Highschool sports. I will be along the sidelines for these

Nature shots, 100yds+

I stumbled upon on Opteka 650-1300mm on eBay for around $200... yay or nay? Also a listing on eBay for two Sigma Lenses, 70-300mm and a 28-70... both of those lenses for $200 total. Would those three lenses cover my current wants?

If not, What would be the best lenses for the buck for those three? I want something that is great, but doesn't cost alot. (I can't believe I am saying that. I normally hear that atleast 5 times a day). But yeah, I don't want the cheapest lenses out there, nor the most expensive, as I am a beginner into all of this.

Any help you guys and/or gals would be able to give, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time!

Jordan
CPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 16, 2005, 5:56 PM   #2

I'd stay away from opteka, in general they aren't exactly high quality lenses, not that there aren't happy customers out there. Not to mention that at that enormous of a focal length, a tripod will be absolutely essential for nearly every shot, even in bright light where you can increase the shutter speed. If I recall correctly, those opteka lenses also are f/8 as the largest aperature, which is going to kill it for anything but very bright lighting or long exposures.