Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 19, 2005, 6:50 PM   #1

Ok so I finally made the decision and I am going to buy the Canon 75-300 f/4.0-5.6 IS USM EF Lens for my rebel. I am just learning and starting out with photography but need a good zoom lens. Most of my pics are action and many indoors in at my daughters gymnastics. I am also signed up for a photo class this fall to learn more then just automatic.

I went to three different stores today and none had the above lens. Where is the best place to get it online? If I get it and don't like it do they let you return a lens?

I really wanted to find someplace local to go and try a lense out first but guess that isn't going to happen.

Thanks for the help.

CC
cc101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 19, 2005, 7:13 PM   #2

I would strongly encourage you to get the Canon 70-200 L f4 USM over the 75-300 IS. I hope you'll seriously consider this alternative; it really is in your best interest.
fstopjojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2005, 7:25 PM   #3

Hi,

Thanks for the recommendation. Can you give me a few reasons so I can understand the differences. Sorry just so new to all this and I don't want to make a $500+ mistake.

Thanks

CC
Old Aug 19, 2005, 7:29 PM   #4

Ok sorry ...I did see this one when doing searches and reading reviews. I think the main reason I didn't choose it was it there were comments about the no image stabilization. So I was worried taking pictures from the bleachers it would be better to have the stabilization? wrong?

Thanks

CC
Old Aug 19, 2005, 9:02 PM   #5