Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 30, 2005, 5:50 AM   #1

re: Close up Lens/Diopter versus Extension Tubes

I love my Rebel XT, and My Canon 24-85mm Lens, B+W MRC 67mm UV filter+ ew73 hood.

I am a mere mortal hobby photographer. I occasionally need to take macro shots, a close up of flowers, damage to my property, jewelry, silver, etc. I am not in the market for a full macro lens because I neither want to pay for it, carry it, and if I can avoid it I would like to leave the 24-85mm on the XT close to forever to keep dust of the sensor.

This leaves a preference for Close up Lens/Diopters.

******I am looking for recomendations. ****************

I understand that multi element is better. I suspect I need something in the 4 to 10x range. Probably at least 5x. As noted above my lens takes 67mm screw on. I saw B+W but these are 4x single element I believe.

Lastly, how hard is it clean the sensor if I do take the lens off. I know the lens cleaning mode/mirror lock up and you get a plastic air bulb, invert the camera etc.????
anthlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2005, 8:31 AM   #2