Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 2, 2005, 9:39 AM   #1

Hi everyone! I'm new to the world of digital SLR photography (I just got the Rebel XT) and am so excited to be a part of it. Yesterday my new Canon 70-200 4L arrived and I went to the local soccer field to try it out - WOW! The photos are beautiful and I didn't even try. :-)

My new Canon 17-85 lens, however, is showing a LOT of Chromatic Aberration - enough where I can see it in an 8x10 print. We're going to Japan next month and I was hoping to just take this lens, but I'm not convinced of its quality. I've attached a photo that shows examples. Can anyone with this lens tell me if this amount of CA is normal, or if I have a bad lens?

I'm debating if I want to trade it in for a 17-40, but I'm not sure I want to lose the range. Help? Advice? Comments? Thanks in advance!
Attached Images

aschlabach is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2005, 9:58 AM   #2

Here is another example... obviously it wasn't meant to be a pretty picture... but you can very clearly see the color fringing against the light fixture at 100%.
Attached Images

Old Sep 2, 2005, 11:24 AM   #3

Fairly normal for this lens. Not uncommon to the 24-70L, 85 f1.8, among others. Go and enjoy the lens.
fstopjojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2005, 11:11 PM   #4

It sounds "normal" to me. The 17-40 f/4 L is also not free of this problem, particularly towards the edges. The 18-55's performance is significantly worse in this regard.Phew

Can't say how the 17-40 and 17-85 compare in this regard personally, but I have heard that the 17-85 is worse. I find the range of the 17-40 to be very good (equivalent full frame FoV would be 27-64, which is a "classic" range, encompassing 3 common primes - 28, 35, 50). I fill in the gap between 40 and 70 with a 50 1.8, but sadly don't do often enough considering how good the 50 is.