Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 3, 2005, 9:20 PM   #1

:-)What len's would you recommendto shootweddings. I'm a Videographer and trying to start to to get involvedin incorporating still's into my video. Thanks for your help! Negy
negy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2005, 11:11 AM   #2

By the sounds of it, you already shoot weddings with video?
If so, then I won't go on my normal rant about how hard it is to shoot weddings and that I hightly recommend you don't do it.

BUT... if you already know what shoting weddings is about, then it's a difficult question for two reasons.

Normally you want to make some smaller and some large prints. Large prints require good lenses... enlargements show up any flaws in lower-quality lenses. If you only want to make smaller prints (8x10's) then you can get away with a cheaper lens, if you don't throw away much data.

I would suggest you search this site for the word wedding, you'll find a lot of info, as people as on a fairly regular basis about what to get for wedding work.

The 80 f1.8 is cheap, fairly good and is damn fast. You'll need that some times in a wedding, when you aren't allow to use a flash and the light is low. I have this lens and for its price ($60 USD) it is a good deal. But it is plastic, so it can't take a beating.

The 28-135 IS zoom isn't very fast (I forget the fstop range, but it isn't impressive... f3.5-f4.5?) and it isn't he highest quality glass. But the IS is handy for the spontanious shots you'll want to get. No tripod necessary if the light is the situation doesn't require high shutter speeds. I have this lens, and its a fun carry around lens. I don't know if it would be good enough for a wedding (reliability, quality of optics.)

Some people like the 70-200 zooms, but I gotta believe that is too much zoom. Really high quality lenses in that zoom range, though. Stunning stuff.