Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 16, 2005, 12:17 AM   #1

I'm a newbie with dslr, XT will be my first dslr and I would like to ask ur opinion regarding the lens. Should I just get the xt with kit lens and play with it for awhile till I get the hang of it. Or should I just get the body only and get a better all in one lens?

I was looking at the 17-85 IS, do you think this would be ok? I don't want too expensive lens, at least 3x zoom like the regular P&S will be good for me.

So which do you think would work great? I don't want heavy lens to start with.

Anna
Ching is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2005, 1:08 AM   #2

Anna

Another lens that you should look at would be the Sigma 18-125mm. It is a nice all around lens. It can do moderate wide angle, to some telephoto work. This lens spends a lot of time on my camera, and I have been very happy with the results. You can get it from B & H for about $290, some other places for less.

Also, about what price range are you looking? And what type of photography work will you be doing with this lens?

Bill
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2005, 1:21 AM   #3

Hi Bill,

It would have to be all-around, I don't think I'll need the wide lens, the regular would do, but having wide will be a welcome addition as I might be taking front view of a resort (family job) I will need a good zoom but I don't think too long zoom is a must, I have my panasonic FZ5 for the extra long zoom (might go on safari) Most important is indoor pix, for indoor pix, do I need F2.8 for that? Like going to museum or old churches, or night parties with ample light but still low, for taking group pictures.

Price range of not more than $500.00 Mostly use for vacation pictures. For sharpness, I can do pp on that as long as no great distortion. The sigma 18-125mm looks good but is it good for low light no flash?

Anna
Old Sep 16, 2005, 2:33 AM   #4