Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 7, 2006, 7:44 PM   #1

I just ordered my Cannon 20D today and I'm thinking I should have read some of these post first. I ordered my camera with a Cannon 28-135mm IS USM lens. I am new to the SLR world and I don't want to make any costly mistakes. So did I make the right choice or should I have bought the 17-85mm lens for a all purpose lens.

Thanks,

Joe
joelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2006, 8:08 PM   #2

Not know what your main photography interests are it is hard to say if this choice is a mistake or not. What you will have though is an equivalent of about a 45-216mm lens with the 20D, so you would be lacking at the short end for wide shots. The 17-85mm would have given you a 35mm equivalent of around 27-136mm which is probably a better focal range if it is going to be your only lens for a while. That is about the range you willfind on most point and shot digitals because it is a good all around range.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 8:14 PM   #3

You're going to love your new 20D. I bought the 17-85IS lens with mine a year and a half ago and find it a great combination. I also bought a 70-200 f/4L and the eos f/1.8.

My 17-85 stays on the camera most of the time. I don't think you've made a mistake, but you might want a wider lens later, depending on what kind of pix you take.

The 20D is really quick. It has served me well so far and will do so for a long time...
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2006, 8:21 PM   #4

Asmyfirst lens I was looking for more telephoto then wide angle. Taking pictures of little league sports and animals in the wild. This lens is just a starter for me.

Thanks,

Joe
Old Feb 7, 2006, 8:25 PM   #5

When I do buy a wide angle lens how far into the lens range of the lens I have should I overlap in MM. If you know what I mean.

Thanks,

Joe