Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 19, 2006, 1:04 PM   #1

Relating to DSLR I am a newbie so would like a little advice regarding which lens to buy.

I have a shortlist of three and it's definately one of these I will buy, Canon 17-40 f4L,

Canon 24-70 f2.8L, and Canon 28-105f4L, I know most people would probably buy the faster but heavier 24-70 f2.8L butas I can't afford a tele at the minute thought maybe the extra length on the 24-105 would be handy. Then I think the extra width on the 17-40f4L etc etc, I would say at present my needs would lean towards a quality walk round lens covering as much as can be possible with my final choice.

I would welcome any advice on this decision please.

Rico.
Gypsyrico is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2006, 9:34 AM   #2

Welcome aboard,

You didn't mention what camera you have so I'll assume it's an XT or 20D. If so, you have a 1.6framewith those models. So multiply your focal lengths by 1.6 to get the true focal lenght. For example your 24x70 functions as a 38.4 - 112 as compared to the same lens on a full frame camera.

Myadvice would be this...

If your needs were for lower light or faster shutter speedsgo with the f/2.8.
Indoor sports for example.

If you were shooting a fair amount of landscapes, then wider is better.

Is there a local store where you can look through each choice before you buy?

Now, on the other hand, if you are going to stay with "L" glass and do plan on getting a tele down the road, (expensive option). The tele of choice by most folks is the 70-200 f/2.8 L. Ifyou planned onthis lens, thenthe 24 - 105 wouldn't be as important for the reach it would give you now.