Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 24, 2006, 10:27 AM   #1
Member
 
twkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 31
Default

I know you guys would not be as excited as I am....but I just got a Sigma 70-300 for my XT and I'm excited! Nice, bright spring-like day today so I may swing by the park and take some pics of the swans...they're nice and "clean white" right now with their extra winter feathers lol.

Anything I need to know about this lens? Quirks or anything?

Thanks!


EDIT: Well...seems the lens has an issue. When I first mounted it, the camera did not "see" it. The lens would not even try to focus when I depressed the shutter release. I pushed it all the way, the shutter relaesed, then I had an error on the screen.

Turned off the camera, re-mounted it, and it seemed okay, but the AF seems to not work correctly. It's like it's trying to focus, I can hear the motor trying to start, but the lens will not adjust, especially if the subject is close. If I frame up something far away, it focusus fine, and then seems to be okay up close.

Should I use it fora few days to see if it "breaks in" or just exchange it? Got it from Sigma For Less.
twkenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 24, 2006, 1:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
squirl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,702
Default

based on my experience with electronics, this isn't something that will "break in"... this is a hard failure. possibly intermittent, but that's worse yet, because you may think it's okay and it may fail at a very inopportune moment.

jot down the error message you got, along with the symptoms or problems you're having, and send it back to the vendor. tell them you want a new lens. if they're at all reputable, they'll honor the warranty and ship you a replacement.
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 2:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bobbyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,423
Default

Make sure AF button is on auto. Also the lens might not be able to focus on close objects, depends on min focussing distance of the lens.
bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2006, 2:31 PM   #4
Member
 
twkenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 31
Default

squirl033 wrote:
Quote:
based on my experience with electronics, this isn't something that will "break in"... this is a hard failure. possibly intermittent, but that's worse yet, because you may think it's okay and it may fail at a very inopportune moment.

jot down the error message you got, along with the symptoms or problems you're having, and send it back to the vendor. tell them you want a new lens. if they're at all reputable, they'll honor the warranty and ship you a replacement.
I agree totally. When I said "break in" I meant move freely. It tries to, but then didn't.

Only happened when I first mounted it. Seems fine. I'll probably exchange it anyway, can't hurt I guess.

Thanks!
twkenny is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:08 AM.