Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 25, 2006, 2:52 PM   #1

Hi,

i have decided to step up from p&s cameras, and decided to go for the Rebel XT. could someone help me with the choice of lenses. this is what i know so far. the rebel can be purchsed with or without the lens, if you get it with the lens it would be the EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 zoom lens. However, i just read on Canon page that the EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens is the perfect lens for this camera? i know the latter lens has an image stalizer, but its also a bit larger. anyone know more about this, like i said, im very new to dSLRs.

should i get the bundled 18-55 lens or get the body seperate and get the 17-85, looking especially on image quality differences, zoom??? better?. Also, is it a good time to get a rebel xt now, or will there be a new version out soon, maybe wait?

would really appreciate any responses, thanks!

Bonefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2006, 3:58 PM   #2