Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Mar 6, 2006, 12:04 AM   #1

there is a thread on both these lenses already, and I've read countless reviews, but I keep getting mixed views about both lenses... but I realy want to be sure to by because as Im sure alot of you will appreciate, £900 is alot of money

anyway, I'm mainly a live band photographer, dont get alot of paid work but I enjoy it and I consider myself ok at it (username for url :P)....

but I realy need a faster lens, preferably one thats quite wide with a bit of range.. so I was thinking 24-70 2.8 (because of the range and fstop)....

but their is a big price diffrence, so can some people give me examples of good and bad points of each lens? and maybe some photos.

oh I use a Canon Eos 300d

Help, Realy Appreciated.

---------------------------

off topic, I cant make an Avatar thats 15kb :P
stuartmoffat.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2006, 9:35 AM   #2
NHL

The difference are mainly in the USM vs non-USM, the extra cost of the Canon is toward the edge on a full-frame, but you're with a 300D which crops theses peripheral vision out anyway:
http://www.pbase.com/fstopjojo/2470exl

When you're in the dark especially in low contrast areas any lens will have focusing problem - I highly recommend the AF infrared focusing beam from the flash only for theses situations (You just don't use the flash output), much more reasonable than an ST-E2...
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2006, 12:15 AM   #3

thanks for that NHL.....

I have a 550ex, which helps me with focusing alot, and I sometimes focus with it, turn it off then take a shot!... but I realy think I'm gona go with the Canon this time... I know its Treble the price, but Ive not realy heard anything bad about it, where as the sigma gets quite alot of stick.......

if anyone wants to try and change my mind please do