Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 2, 2003, 6:57 AM   #1

Default 10D and NON USM lenses

:?

Folks,
When I buy my 10D, (soon I hope), am I going to be disappointed by a non USM Canon lens?
I've never used autofocus on an SLR before, only manual lenses.
I'm familiar though with AF on a so called "prosumer" digital.
It seems that non-usm are reasonably cheap, so should I risk it?
(Money is very tight!)

Regards , 'n' thanks,

J2 (UK).
J2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 2, 2003, 3:52 PM   #2

All technical information aside, there is an old addage that usually rings true:

"You get what you pay for."

I was recently talking about lenses with a photographer that I know, and we covered this very subject, he said "Why buy a state of the art camera only to turn around and use a lower quality lense on it!?" Makes sense.

IMO, if you're gonna buy a $1500 camera, you gotta buy top of the line lenses!

Just my 2 cents

Steve P
tgrwoods6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2003, 3:59 PM   #3

Default Non USM lenses

Thanks for that Steve, and I do understand what you are saying but....
If the optics are the same, (IF), and its just a bit slower and noisier, then it isnt really degrading the final result. As far as the best is concerned, well that'd be "L" glass, yes? How many Canon DSLR users only use L type lenses? 10% 20%?.

I know I sound as though I'm trying to answer my own question, and really that isnt so. I'm just wondering aloud I suppose......

Regards,

J2
UK.
J2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2003, 9:58 PM   #4