Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 23, 2006, 6:28 AM   #1

Can someone please help me understand the difference between these two lenses? I own the first one and use if with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. Most of my photos are taken on our wooded lot, so they are in the shade, and most are taken of moving or perching birds. They don't come out as clear as I would like them. I have to take photos at ISO 400 or 800 many times and even at that speed, I can only get maybe 1/200 of a second at 7.1 or 8.

I'm a relative newbie and I was all ready to buy the more expensive lens because I thought it would provide clearer photos. Now several people have told me that it will cut down my DOP.

Can someone PLEASE explain this to me in real simple terms.

Thanks. Here is a sample shot: It was taken at ISO 800, 1/400 at 7.1

backyarder1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2006, 6:33 AM   #2
NHL

IMO You don't need another lens...

(and you seem to have ample of light from the EV value)

-> Try sharpening in Photoshop :idea:

BTW - Did you take this picture through a window - or have a filter up front?

NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2006, 7:29 AM   #3

I do take some through a window and do not know whether that particular one was taken through a window. However, most of the shots look the same.

BUT can you still explain to me the difference between the two lenses so that I can understand it?

thanks
Old Apr 23, 2006, 7:33 AM   #4
NHL

Two differents values:

1. The main difference is f/2.8 vs f/5.6 aperture

-> An f2.8 lens is two stop faster which is four time brighter than f/5.6 lens meaning you can quadruple your shutter speed for the sameamount of light- At the same time you are decreasing the DOF (Depht Of field) when the aperture becomes larger (the largest opening in the lens) ,i.e. more defocus in front and behind the main subject