Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 30, 2006, 10:48 PM   #1

I own a Canon-10D. I've owned it for about 2-3 years now, and love it. the 28-135mm lense is the only lense I own, and it's not as good for all purpose shots as I would like. I am not a professional photographer, and barely understand any terminology.

As I get more serious with photos, I am finding myself with serious issues with taking indoor shots (especially in the dark), and mostly interested in taking wider photos with groups of people, or landscapes without distorting the image. It's ridiculous how much distance I have to move back in order to get a shot with everyone, and in some places, rooms are too small to take any decent photos of a group. And then there's the case where I want to take a picture of someone with a background, but I can't get much background with my current lense. So it's time to get a wide-angle lense that will solve all those problems. Will a wide angle lense have a better capability to grab focus in darker rooms?

I'm willing to spend the money for a great wide-angle lense that will complement my other lense. One day, I will replace my camera with a 1.0 focal length version without EF-S lenses, so I am planning for the future too.

EF 28mm-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM -- converts to 44.8mm-216mm on my 10D.

So my thoughts about options for new lense:

EF 14mm f/2.8L USM -- $1700 -- yikes! That gives me a 22.4mm equiv. Seems to be the best, maintaining aspect ratio instead of fisheye, right? But price...

EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM -- $1300. Seems like a great lense, but what kind of "wide" difference would it be compared to the 14mm? It might be nice to be able to control the zoom a little, but not sure what the trade offs would be.

EF 17-40mm f/4L USM -- $660 -- For half the price of the previous lense, I'm not getting quite the same wide zoom ability. What is the difference between f/2.8 and f/4?