Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 22, 2006, 3:56 PM   #1

I am pretty new to DSLR photography. I just got a Canon 30d and I am looking for a good zoom lens to shoot little league baseball, football and some mountain bike racing my son participates in. I have been referred to these two lens quit a bit (Canon 70-200 F4L and Sigma 70-200 2.8 Macro) but thought I would ask for some input on this forum. I have heard that going with the 2.8 will give me a larger range of shooting capabilities as you can shoot in lower light and use faster shutter speeds for action shots. Not sure I know what I need, so any suggestions, thoughts and advice would be great.

doitdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 25, 2006, 12:04 AM   #2

It looks like those sports will be out doors, is that correct?

If they are played in good light, then Canon might work well. If you expect to shoot in school gyms and such, the f2.8 is almost a necessity (and you'll be shooting at higher ISO values too.)

I've heard mixed things about the Sigma you mention. Some love it, some don't. It might just be sample difference. Sigma might keep the price lower by shipping lenses of lower quality than Canon is willing to do. Who knows?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2006, 12:55 AM   #3

You want the fastest lens you can afford for sports. It's not just getting fast enough shutter speeds but also shallow depth of field to isolate the subject.
Given these lenses cost about the same (the canon is a little cheaper but I think the sigma comes with hood, case and tripod collar) the sigma is probably the way to go.