Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 29, 2006, 11:30 AM   #1

I am an amateur photographer and have recently purchased a 30D and a 17-85 IS lens.

My main interests are people and landscapes (scenery), but I plan to expand my interests.

My question is: What should my next lens be?

My budget is $1800.00 and I have been looking at the 70-200 2.8 IS. I have also thought about purchasing the 70-300 4.5/5.6 IS lens and using the remaining money to purchase another lens.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dave

I am an amateur photographer and have recently purchased a 30D and a 17-85 IS lens.

My main interests are scenery and people but I will probably be dabbling in all aspects of photography.

My budget is $1800 and I am considering the 70-200 2.8 IS. I have also thought about the 70-300 IS 4.5/5.6 and maybe using the remaining money to purchase another lens.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dave

am an amateur photographer and have recently purchased a 30D and a 17-85 IS lens.

My main interests are scenery and people but I will probably be dabbling in all aspects of photography.

My budget is $1800 and I am considering the 70-200 2.8 IS. I have also thought about the 70-300 IS 4.5/5.6 and maybe using the remaining money to purchase another lens.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dave
bogey59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 4, 2006, 9:49 PM   #2

If you lend me $1800, I promised that after I ordered and used a Canon 70-200mm 2.8 IS L lens for couple months, I will let you know my opinion.:blah:
I was on the same boat with you after I have the 30D & lens kit. As you mentioned that you're interested in people & landscape, I recommended the 70-200mm 2.8 IS L lens, since it allows you to take picture from distant and people more in nature mood. It can be a best lens for wedding too as several posts I read in here.

QV
Quanvu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2006, 2:13 PM   #3