Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 6, 2007, 10:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
Default

My S2-IS is showing "Memory Card Error". It also shows "Card Locked" for a while. I am unable to take a single photo from this camera.
I am fadefup with this error. It occured just before our departure to Orisa, India for 10 days visit and this problem gave us frustration and depression during our entire visit.
I tried following steps but could not worked.

1. changed 2-3 different SD memory cards (including 16MB Canon supplied)
2. tried card reader's formatted cards
3. In camera Format feature is disabled.
4. changed different battery set (fully charged)
5. unable to take a photo in Windows XP, gives error

I would appreciate your similar experience and solution to this problem.
- Rakesh Gupta
rakeshkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2007, 4:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 46
Default

If you've tried to format card in camera and can't you need to reset camera to

factory defaults. Then try again. Make sure your batteries are good. Sounds

like a bad camera or possibly virus in cards. Check them on a computer.

James
jcotton55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2007, 6:27 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Hi James,

I have already tried that Factory reset but could not solved the problem. Batteries are good and tried different set. Virus not possible in different cards and I am very careful about those. Now I think there may be some problem with SD card contact in the socket.

Does anybody know any switch or alike for SD card in S2?

- Rakesh Gupta


rakeshkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2007, 9:09 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Problem Solved...
I found a small broken peice of "poor quality SD card" make: "Nav-Tech" inside the card slot (card was bought from a local reseller as he sells only life-time warranty products and not popular barnds are available locally).

I was able to see that peice in direct sunlight only. After removing it with the help of niddle the camera still does'nt worked. I tried to slightly touch the various points (very carefully) in the SD slot as a last try before sending it to Canon and the right side of the SD insertion side allowed the card to worked. May be it is some spring etc.

*** (Caution: do not attemp it or do it at your own risk) ***

Anyway, I am able to shoot pictures now.

Thank you all for your support.
- Rakesh Gupta
rakeshkota is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:44 PM.