Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 21, 2007, 7:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I got the Canon SD600 PowerShot 600 digi-cam for Christmas & have not been able to upload my pictures on it since!

I know a few people have had the same problem. My problem IS THE SAME EXACT ONE as this guys:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/view_topic.php?id=93239&forum_id=46



I downloaded the driver he said to in his last post in hopes of solving this issue, but when I open the installer (SETUP.exe), IT WON'T INSTALL!
Instead, it opens up as if it's going to install, then I keep getting an error saying:

"WIA Driver file for Windows XP not found. Click O.K. to cancel installation."

I mean... I am trying to install the WIA driver, so obviously I don't have it, therefore why would it be found or not?

I don't feel like buying a memory card reader for something that should work without one. I'M DESPERATE! Please help!

Thank you.
QUICK421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2007, 2:11 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hello,

For what it's worth i use a card reader anyway..... For about $20 it may well be woth it to reduce your stress .. and as a benifit your camera batteries dont have to have a good charge to download... Also, i dont use the Canon software, rather another photo editor like Picasa2 (free) which works well for me to catalogue and email.. Wish i could be of more help with the PC part..

Good luck,

Michael ....
Rebelboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 2:11 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hello,

For what it's worth i use a card reader anyway..... For about $20 it may well be woth it to reduce your stress .. and as a benifit your camera batteries dont have to have a good charge to download... Also, i dont use the Canon software, rather another photo editor like Picasa2 (free) which works well for me to catalogue and email.. Wish i could be of more help with the PC part..

Good luck,

Michael ....
Rebelboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 9:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
pagerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 483
Default

I haven't installed the software to transfer pics, I plug the ca,era and once it has the icon I right-click and choose where it is to put the photos and then it does it by itself.
pagerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2007, 11:27 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I have the sd700 is and have recently compared using a card reader with the cable supplied by Canon. I only used the cable, since I was recommending the camera to a friend and thought it would be a good idea to test whether I should suggest buying a card reader (which I already had) or whether this was an unncecessary expense. The manual says one should use the Canon supplied software when using the cable.

My take: The Canon software is very clunky and prone to crash. I would strongly recommend a card reader. They are cheap and you can use them with Windows just like you would use any other device, such as a jump drive or an external hard drive. I recommended to my friends that they should buy a card reader.

Bryan
BryanBoulier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2007, 3:24 AM   #6
Member
 
TexasHillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Default

man for God's sake go here and order a $4.99 card reader and you will love it and never want to connect another camera to a computer again.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...=0&Ntk=all

I got this reader and it is awesome

I have owned about 8 digital cameras and I never connected a one to the computer.

I hate the software that all the cameras use. AllI want is to get my pics copied onto my hard drive so I can put them on a cd or dvd for backup and the card reader is a lot better and a lot faster than connecting the camera and using the camera software.

Try it you will love it


TexasHillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 2:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
tubbytwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Let me recommend free cam2pc. http://www.nabocorp.com/cam2pc/ Once configured, all you do is plug in your camera to the USB cable, sit back while it copies/moves the pictures to a folder of your choice, and displays the first image. Space bar advances or sideshow. Very simple
_________________
-Mike Tôôn
tubbytwo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:34 PM.