Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 10, 2003, 5:10 AM   #1

Default Question about Canon Digicam (im a noob to cams)

Hi all. A nice young woman at AMDMB.com forums sent me here to get real opinions.

Its my bday coming up, and my mother has a card at Sears. I have been wanting to get a digicam for a long time, and now its time.

She has $200 for me to spend. I have found this camera here:

http://www.sears.com/sr/product/summ...ession.new=Yes

sorry about the long URL =(

Anyway, the nice young woman at AMDMB told me I should look at the A70.

And now that I am here, I see a lot of happy A70 users. I hear I can get this camera for $299. thats a lil out of my range, but at same time, if it is worth the money, will spend. You get what you pay for.

The one thing I need is a camera that can take pics in all areas. I build computers, and lots of time i need pics of the specific parts/chips, or to take pics of cases with neon lights in them, or in low-light, or at a baseball game (fast moving objects).

I dont want to, and will not spend more than $300 for a camera. if this means I cannot get anything decent, I will continue to wait.

I was wondering if anyone has the camera i linked, and if so, could you post a pic that you have taken? I looked through the gallery, but did not see any pics taken with that camera.

I did see a lot of A70 pics though. They reaaaaally look good.

What do you all suggest? Should I get the $199 Canon at sears?

or should i spend the extra and get the $299 A70? I am thinking I should spend the extra, but would like to know if it is still a good camera (the $199 one, cuz thats all i might have to spend and i cannot wait!!!).

thank you all for any replies. Appreciate it!

Travis H
DFI Support Tech
Angry_Games is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2003, 7:17 AM   #2
kex

Hi,
I don't really know that camera you're about to buy. (the $199-one)