Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Sep 8, 2007, 4:45 AM   #1

Hi there im new to photography i have the Canon g7 and see there is a new canon sx100 10x optical zoom .W

which is better ? would i be any better buying the sx100 for the extra zoom

Would the quality be any better or worse than my g7 .

which one will give better image quality

g7 or sx100

is the g7 or the sx100 sensor better
jeanette62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2007, 7:10 AM   #2

jeanette-

The question: "Which is better, the Canon G-7 or the Canon SX-100?" is sort of relative, as these cameras are completely different cameras targeted at two entirely different market segments of camera camera users.

As I understand it, and I may indeed be wrong, the introduction of the Canon SX-100 was to give the A-series cameras an ultra zoom alternative camera for newbies and folks just getting started in photography at an economical price point.

Canon also probably recognized that Panasonic's TZ-3 model was siphoning off a measurable number of folks who wanted a more compact and transportable ultrazoom camera, that would be ideal for such things as a travel camera.

In contrast, the Canon G-7 and the newer G-9 are considered to be Canon's "flagship" point and shoot cameras, targeted to the real camera enthusiasts who want the very best in point and shoot cameras.

At least that is my "take" on these two cameras for what it might be worth. I hope that helps. Have a great weekend! I have attached one of Canon's sample photos from the SX-100 and the a G-7 photo for reference.

Sarah Joyce

The Canon SX-100:

The Canon G-7:

x
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2007, 7:33 AM   #3

Thankyou im not a beginner ,i understand a littlebut still reading on apature etc.

where did you get the canon sx100 sample photo i cant seem to find any on the uk site ??:?