Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Sep 14, 2007, 11:55 AM   #1

Just received the A630. My feelings towards it are mixed especially after I read the specs of the 720is. The 720 has all the bells and whistles that the 630 needs (Image Stabilization, next genalgorithms,and face recognition for starters) The only drawback that I see is the smaller CCD size of the 720. Are the bells and whistles worth dropping down to a smaller CCD size? I am new to the Canon scene and in need of an informed opinion regarding a comparison between these two cameras in regards to CCD size and how it relates to image quality. As of yet I have found nothing on the net in the form of a comparison between these two models. Which camera is more flexible? I like using Auto settings for situations that are unpredictable and manual setttings for more controlled situations. The closest I have found are comparisons between the 710 and the 720. Anyhow, I have till the 27th to RMA this 630 if I desire to do so. Would love to purchase to the A650 but the price is sorta high. Thanks in advance for any advice.
rotartiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2007, 2:01 PM   #2

rotartiller-

I own the Canon 710IS and have found it to be a great little camera. Yes, it (the A-710IS) does have one weak spot, that the Canon A-720IS will also demonstrate, it has a slow flash recycle time. That really does not bother me, as that is not a crucial issure for me at all.

I even ordered a Canon A-630 and then returned it, as I did not like the lack of IS, nor did I find the A-640 to have better IQ. In fact, I found the IQ to be just about the same between the two cameras.

Not being a pixel peeper, I choose not to discuss the technical aspects of the 1/1.8" imager, versus the 1/2.5" imager.

Sarah Joyce

Here is a A-710IS Macro Shot that shows lots of detail.