Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Mar 19, 2009, 2:19 PM   #1

I've been leaning to getting a Canon as my first camera for awhile... as a novice, average user I wanted a good buy, that was a solid package that'd be a good camera for several year or more. Obviously everyone like more, than less, but given that I'm not a pro/expert and picturing taking would be for interest/pleasure, not professional production I was wonder what the majorities opinion of these 2 compared on that thought process would be.

If I understand correctly, the main difference between the 2 is...

SX10 - about $100 cheaper, slightly crisper image quality, better battery times

SX1 - RAW format, wireless controller, 3 times faster continuous shooting, full HD movies & HD output

So the questions that are important are...

RAW format.... is it that important for your average user? I'd guess not really. Most pics would be fine without it.

The faster continous shooting is really only important if you plan to shoot a lot of continous action shots

HD movies/hd outputare nice... but anyone really hd crazy probably has a camcorder.. and even no HD movies for the amount you'd take would still be very good quality

Wireless controller, nice perk... managable without it using selftimer

SX10 has slightly crisper IQ than SX1... for your novice/average user that's a big plus because most average users don't know all the tricks to adjust the IQ with thoughts of light, , flash, shadows, ISO and other settings, etc

The cost savings on the SX10 could be put towards an extra/bigger memory card, nice carrying case, or tripod

Would you guys agree with those assessments? If yes, would you agree for your average user the SX10 is a better buy "package" wise (and cheaper)? If you disagree, what feature do you see as very valuable wiorth the extra money?

Mysterious is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2009, 2:34 PM   #2