Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Nov 4, 2003, 4:11 AM   #1

Default Canon G5 vs. A80

Hi, I'm not too sure if this msg should be posted here or in the newbies section, I recently received a canon g5 as a gift from my parents and I have a few questions about this camera compared to the A80, (kinda stupid question) but what's the difference between the two cameras, g5 has the 4x zoom and the a80 has a 3x zoom, one is 4 MP and one is 5MP, those were the difference I noticed right off the specifications, they both have the hotshoe for the flash, aperature and shutter priority, but the a80 is almost 1/2 the cost as the G5, it seems like the reviews I've seen on the net for the A80 seems to be quite an good camera already,

I am wondering about the image quality difference between the 2 cameras? or is the 4to 5 MP and the 3to4x zoom is mainly where the cost difference is?

I'm a beginner the other digital camera i own is the nikon coolpix 885 and i owned a kodak dc215 before, i can write a huge list of cons of these 2 cameras but just curious about the g5 vs the a80

thank-you in advance for the replies
goiku is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2003, 2:18 PM   #2

The a80 doesnt have a hotshoe. Or the one that I have is missing it

I'd say stick with the G5
Gimli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2003, 2:56 PM   #3

That's one of the best gifts I ever heard of!

Did they choose it without your help?
Joshua B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2003, 1:55 AM   #4

Oh, thought the a80 had a hot shoe also, just reading some reviews on the g5, i had an uncle also totally into photography and digi cams and he was showing me all these articles on the g5,

my dad went on a trip to hk, so he wanted to buy a camera for my mom but ended up getting a g5 due to the magazine and reviews he's been hearing about and his friend owned a shop so got a slightly better deal (nothing crazy like 50% etc etc..)