Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Feb 3, 2010, 6:55 PM   #1

Default S90 Setting

Hello All-

I recently purchased a s90 and want to see what some settings I should make or change from the defaults. I am new to photography, but I know that each environment will need different settings. I just want to see what some good everyday settings are and what I should set the shortcuts to. I am thinking setting the front control ring to ISO.
imsuperjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2010, 7:03 PM   #2
Super Moderator

for everyday, i think shooting in P or program mode would make the most sense. and setting the front ring to ISO would be the best bet i think, and the rear control will be used for exposure comp.

one trick for the S90 is outdoors on bright sunny days, you may want to dial down a little bit of -EV exposure comp, as it can clip highlights.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 8:31 PM   #3

Hi --

I agree with Hards. That is how I have been using my S90 most of the time -- P mode with front ring set to ISO and exposure compensation on the back ring. That is the default for P mode, I believe and it seems to allow pretty fast setting adjustments and pictures without remaining in auto mode. I also have the custom colors set to increase sharpening +2 and contrast and saturation +1. But I would suggest taking test shots both at the default setting and then making different adjustments, one at a time, and see what appeals to you. I'm still experimenting with mine and trying to figure out what works best in different situations. The shortcut button also can be a real time saver. How you set it really depends upon what feature you feel you might need most frequently.

Disclaimer: I am not an expert.

Good luck and enjoy your camera.
Jazzer251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 9:57 PM   #4