Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Dec 15, 2003, 6:06 PM   #1

Default S400 vs SD10

Could someone help me on the differences between the S400 and the SD10... the pros and cons in relation to eachother? I've never had a digital camera and am kind of confused.

Thanks.
sleeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2003, 11:41 PM   #2

I am debating the same thing. The biggest thing that I can see if that the SD10, in order to be so small, does not have a optical zoom (this is on most modern cameras) but instead has a digital zoom. Many digital cameras have both so you can get all that much more close up. Digital zoom does the zooming digitally but you lose pixels. Not a big deal at 4.0 pixels from my guess. I am not an expert I hope someone else posts that knows more. The SD10 is a lot smaller although they are both small.

Jeff
Hodorsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2003, 1:37 AM   #3

There are some conciderable differences to these cameras.

Shutter speed is one of them, the SD10's fastest speed is 1/1500 of a sec and the S400's is 1/2000th. This means less washed out pictures in high-intensity light (outdoors and whatnot).

The focus is also different. Both cameras feature an AiAF focusing system, which is something that allows you to focus on subjects off-center. I'm not sure exactly how it works, but the SD10 has a 5 point system and the S400 a 9 point system. I'm guessing this allows for a more accurate off-center focus?

The S400 also has an iSAPS deal... I have no idea what it stands for, but it analyzes the scene you're taking a snapshot of and makes readings significantly faster than the other Elphs (it speeds up the auto focus, the white balance, the ISO, etc.), resulting in a quicker photo speed.

The S400 also has a continuous shooting mode, allowing you to take 2 1/2 pictures/second. The SD10 doesn't have this feature.