Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Feb 4, 2011, 2:47 PM   #1

Default Canon G series life expectancy ?

I bought my first Canon last month, a G12. Great, little camera, feels robust, does everything I ask of it.

BTW, I'm not a pro, just an enthusiastic amateur, who nonetheless, particularly now that I'm retired, give my digital cameras a daily workout.

I'm assuming the Canon G series is a durable unit, Canon having an excellent reputation and the G series being their premium, small camera.

Wondering what other's experience is...lifetime expectations of the G series, from the intro G...up to the newest in the pack, the G12 ?

Any problems with them ?

lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2011, 7:08 PM   #2

les-

I am still actively shooting with my Canon G-6 that I purchased in 2003.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 8:36 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtclimber View Post
les-

I am still actively shooting with my Canon G-6 that I purchased in 2003.

Sarah Joyce
Going on 8 years is impressive.
Old Feb 4, 2011, 10:06 PM   #4

I bought my G11 in 2009 when it was 2 weeks on the market. I did have to send it back about 5 months later for a quick adjustment as the date kept resetting even though it shouldn't. I can't recall what the part was which was replaced.
If the battery is out of it for a long time it apparently will run the risk of possibility needing the date to be reset (at the time mine was being used daily). So, that's something to keep your eye on.

Otherwise, I haven't had any issues and still actively use my camera.

Canon 5D III
50mm 1.2 L l 24-70 F2.8 L l 70-200 F4 L l 40mm 2.8 l 100mmL 2.8 macro

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alainn...39490172728282
http://alainnbellephotography.smugmug.com/
Shutterbug74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2011, 11:37 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shutterbug74 View Post