Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 29, 2011, 9:55 PM   #1

Default sd4000 focus problems

I am a newbie with limited knowledge of digital photography.

I bought an SD4000is to take pictures of my newborn son. I chose it for the low light performance (my old digital elph wasn't cutting it indoors). after 16 months of trying to get decent pictures out of the 4000 I am close to calling it quits and springing for a Nikon D3100 (and taking a photography class).

But before I do, I thought i'd give it one last try and ask for help.

The problem I'm having is that 90% of the pictures I take are blurry. I think it's a focus problem. the camera just can't seem to find a good focus. I've tried various program modes, and playing around with the priority settings, but nothing works. the best luck i've had is in auto mode where it occasionally seems to understand that I'm taking a picture of a person and it locks in on the face (and displays a magnified box of the area in focus). only then is the intended subject in focus, and it rarely happens, and never at the "right time" for baby pics. even outdoor photos in broad daylight are blurry most of the time. it has been a huge disappointment.

I've read through the user guide a couple dozen times and am no closer to solving this.

does anyone have any advice?
sky jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2011, 2:45 AM   #2

Hi welcome can you post a couple of examples so we can look at them.
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 7:57 PM   #3