Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old May 14, 2012, 7:03 AM   #1

Default Canon SX40HS Shutter lag

Hi all:
I'm new here, but have been reading Steve's Digicams for a number of years.
I recently bought the Canon SX40HS camera. I still have a week to return it if I don't like the camera. I previously had a Panasonic FZ18, that I like very much, but wanted to upgrade to a camera with a longer zoom.
I am not a professional photographer, but just an average person who enjoys taking pictures at baseball games, and kids sports, and also when traveling, and just general usage such as taking still images of people.
I bought this camera, because of the reviews I've seen, and I saw where it had some shutter lag, but didn't realize how bad it would be in Auto mode.
I am using a class 6 Sandisk card right now, and was wondering if a higher speed card would correct the shutter lag.
I mainly just want to be able to pick up the camera, and take pictures in Auto mode, but the shutter lag is making it difficult.
The pictures that I have taken so far show good quality, and I would like to keep the camera if I could do something simple to reduce the shutter lag.
I sure would appreciate it if somebody here can offer some advice.
ezspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 16, 2012, 4:14 AM   #2

By shutter lag- I assume that you're including AF time also- which is indeed quite slow in "Auto" mode.
Switch to Program or one of the semi-auto (aperture and shutter priority) modes and select your own area for AF- centre seems the logical choice for most situations.
You can also select the AF area size if your chosen subject is in a cluttered spot..!
These changes should improve the shooting speed a bit for you.
However- if your gripe is the standard shot to shot time in single shot mode,then you're kinda stuck with it- as it's typical of most Canon non DSLR camera's- quite pedestrian..!!
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote