Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Feb 4, 2004, 10:57 PM   #1

Default A80 LCD display, aperture, shutter...HELP ME!!!!

Hi! I'm new to photography, so pls excuse any incorrect terminology and such. I am trying to get my A80 to display aperture/shutter speed settings on the lcd in program mode. The manual says it is capable, but I can't get it to show up. Today, in photography class, I learned how to use the exposure lock feature on my film SLR (canon rebel ti). Is there a way to do this or no (not the exposure lock, but to find out what speed & aperture the camera is set at)?

Am I making sense? I feel confused! Basically, I would like to point my camera at the ceiling and see what it "reads" (fstop & shutter speed), then at the floor, then at my toddler, etc., etc. This reading helps me to learn. OK, I hope I haven't confused you further. Please help out a clueless newbie if you can. Thanks!

Amy
amytude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2004, 11:48 PM   #2

Amy, I'm not sure you can see those reading with your digital.

Maybe I am misunderstanding, but I think you are expecting your digital to give you the same readouts are your SLR.

Forgive me if I am misunderstanding.

Janet
JanetKP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2004, 9:17 AM   #3

Janet,
Yes, that is exactly what I am wondering. Is this camera capable of this? THanks!
Old Feb 5, 2004, 10:29 AM   #4

Amy,

try pressing the shutter down halfway to focus, it should display the f-stop and the shutter speed.

Mark
mkoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2004, 5:21 PM   #5

Mark,
It doesn't do it...should it be? I'm literally sitting here with my camera in front of me. It also doesn't give me these readouts after I've taken the pic, which the manual says it should do (in program mode, anyway). This is driving me crazy!

Amy
Old Feb 5, 2004, 6:59 PM   #6