Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Apr 5, 2004, 7:18 PM   #1

Default Canon 75 vs. 80?

Alright, with the release of the A75, does anyone have an opinion on which one is the better buy? I'm new to digital cameras and photography, and want something that's easy to use but will allow me enough options to grow. Obviously the A75 and A80 allow me to do all this.

However, I'm not familiar enough with digital cameras to know what the important differences are between the two of them. I know there's some difference in the zoom, but is there going to be any real difference in picture quality? How about functions? Is there anything one can do that the other can't?

I'm sorry for the stupid newbie questions, but I've done as much research on these cameras as I can, and I'm trying to figure out if there's anything I've over looked. I'm leaning towards the A75, but I'm trying to figure out if there's some reason I should go for the A80.

Also, any other cameras in this price range that offer the same funcationality I might want to look at? I refuse to use xD cards, but CF or SD are fine.

Thanks for the help.
INCyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2004, 10:14 AM   #2
AMG

I am surprised no one has answered you as the A75 is 3.2 megapixel and the A80 is a 4 megapixel, so they are not in the same class, you should compare the A75 to the A70
AMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2004, 8:42 PM   #3

I would hardly call the A75 and the A80 in two different classes. I mean, just how much larger of a photo does 0.8 megapixels get you?

For us, the deal was sealed with the fact that the A75 has a date imprint function that no other Canon A-series seems to have. Also, I appreciate the larger LCD screen on the A75. Currently, the A75 is quite a bit cheaper than the A80, too.
manavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2004, 6:05 AM   #4