Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Oct 3, 2004, 8:01 PM   #1

Hi: I am new to digital cameras and am about tobuy my first. I've narrowed it down to the A85 or the Kodak DX7440. I like the faster shooting speed of the Kodak, but am intrigued by the Manual Focus function of the A85.Can anyone tell me how well it works for them?Thanks!
AmyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2004, 8:55 PM   #2

Since no one's replied to my earlier post, i wonder if that means that no one uses the manual focus on a point and shootcamera like this? Now i;m even more curious!

Amy
Old Oct 11, 2004, 12:22 PM   #3

I would recommend going to dcresource.com and go look up the camera review done there. Or read the reviews done here by Steve, accesable on the main page.

Doing this, will give you the answers you seek. All the review sites, dcresouce.com , dpreview.com , steves-digicams.com all offer in depth reviews of BOTH cameras, and even include many many sample photos.

I recommend reading EVERYTHING, and then decide what you'd use more. Things to keep in mind: Battery type (AA size(NiMH-Rechargable, sold seperately, but worth their weight in gold), proprietary/li-ion - Exprensive, hard to find if you're away from civilization)

Size and weight, optical zoom vs. digital (go highest optical you can afford, you'll thank me later), manual options, shooting speeds, print quality, etc.

All the reviews cover all these points. =o)

Personally, the Canon line of camera's are great and have a very robust manuel setting mode. Their optics and zoom is above average and they produce highly saturated, sharp photos.

I almost bought one... I ended up getting a FujiFilm s602z 3/6MP 6X optical camera. It's got an awesome movie mode, with sound... 640x480 at 30 frames per second! =o) I've got a baby on the way, and I can't wait to take "home" movies.