Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Oct 23, 2004, 5:28 PM   #1

:?I'm totally new to this area of the electronic world, so if my questions sound a bit on the absurd, that would explain things, I hope.

I am due to leave on a vacation of sorts and I got a very inexpensive, used camera. Due also being somewhat of a beginner on the computer I am having a little problem getting started. I have the canon PowerShot A10, it's in working condition, but came with no software. Do I/can I, download what I need at the canon site/if yes what do I use? I use win xp home ed on my computer. I have a very cheap camera that uses what's called ArcSoft 3.0, can this be used with the canon? Any help is very very greatly appreciated.

Enjoy the weekend-

Fleet :sad:
Fleet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 23, 2004, 10:26 PM   #2

Well, I'm a newbie too so I don't know if one newbie should be giving advice to another :?: But anyway...

I don't know anything about the A10 but it shouldn't be different from other cameras. Looking at its specs, I see that it is a 1 megapixel (MP) camera. You won't get high enough quality pics to physically print but they are good enough to post on the web, send via e-mail or do stuff like that. For 4x6 prints, you really want around 2MP or 3MP. I'm just saying this so that you don't get dissapointed with your vacation pics...

The bundled software is not really required to use the camera or interface with the computer. The software just makes it easier. You can probably ask Canon if they could send you the bundled software (they may be able to send some of it--not sure).