Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Dec 21, 2004, 12:13 PM   #1

I've been through5 sets(20) batteries and have only had the camera for 2 weeks. Last night I was taking pictures of our christmas tree on using the tripod. I am still learning the camera. However, I put new batteries in I was using the LCD and changing settings like crazy, however I only got 25 shots before the batteries died, using no flash. Right now I am assuming it's the batteries because they are of the cheaper variety. I got a rayovac 16 pack of batteries for like $3.50 at walmart. However I did assume I would get more then 25 shots out of them. Has anyone had this problem?

anyway here is a pic from last night, again I am still learning the camera

dsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 21, 2004, 3:02 PM   #2

get a couple sets of rechargeables and a charger. I would think you should be able to get a charger for $20 to $30, and I saw a set of 4 2500mAh NiMH AA rechargeables (I think it was Energizer or something - I forget the brand) at Wal-Mart yesterday for about $10. On one charge with my A70 that I used to have, using 1800mAh batteries, I could get somewhere around 150 to 200 shots or more on one charge.
pianoplayer88key is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 3:27 PM   #3

I second Piano's comment. Do yourself and the environment a favor and get yourself some decent 2000+ mAh NiMH batteries and a good charger. I use 2300mAh Energizers and a Maha 401FS charger and I can get around 550 to 600 shots with my A75 with LCD always on. You've got a great little camera in the A75, play with it and keep shooting.

Sam

PS- Nice shot of the Xmas tree. Only thing is that it looks like it has a bit more noise than it should. What ISO did you use?

PPS- Oh ya it's normal for you to get only a handful of shots with cheaper quality Alks. Even the best quality will only get you about 100 shots with the A75.