Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 11, 2005, 2:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Broken Arrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Since getting my A95 I've decided there's 2 things I want for it, both of which need to be created for lack of a retail version.

The first being a shutter release cable bracket. it's easy enough for me to fabricate a one off that I would just use myself but on the other hand a friend suggested that I run a small production assuming I'm not the only one with this need. I was wondering if anyone else would be interested and also if it would be better to create an adjustable one that would fit more cameras there by reducing price (illustrations have been sent with statement of disclosure to the U.S patent office:-)) or if a camera specific bracket would be more favored.

I'm swaying more toward adjustable because I would love it if I could just go buy one for under $40, to bad I can't. Anyone think it's worth starting a pole or something

I also have a good friend thats a programer reverse enginering the canon software to see how hard it would be to use a PDA running a Palm OS for a control, Time lapse control etc. with a viewing screen.
Broken Arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2005, 8:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 838
Default

Not sure about the bracket thing...

Broken Arrow wrote:
Quote:
I also have a good friend thats a programer reverse enginering the canon software to see how hard it would be to use a PDA running a Palm OS for a control, Time lapse control etc. with a viewing screen.
I think Canon offers an SDK (software developer's kit) for their camera. Usually SDKs are offered by companies to allow others to write applications. I'm not sure what's in it but it wouldn't surprise me you were able to control the camera using that. If you friend doesn't know about it yet, ask him to look into it...
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 9:59 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Bankedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

I would be interested in remote shutter release capabilities for my A95.
Bankedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 2:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 69
Default

any machine that runs zoombrowser, can use remote capture to trip the shutter. A laptop though big, will work for this already. I'm sure its just a matter of getting a palm to talk to the cameras usb port and find what registers are for shutter release.

but that just sounds easy..


Also, in the meantime, just set the timer and use it for a delayed shuter release. a cable may shake the camera a bit when engaged, on long exposures it may not matter, but at 1sec and up I think it would create a slight blur..
lenscaplarry is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:42 PM.