Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Nov 25, 2002, 8:26 PM   #1

Default Olympus D550 or Canon Powershot S30

I'm a newbie looking at the Canon Powershot S30 and Olympus D550. I'm replacing my 35mm point-and-shoot. I'm a mom who wants to email pictures of my toddler son but want 3mp so I can have excellent quality prints for scrapbooking and framed pictures.

Both of these cameras fit my price range. Which would you recommend and why?
whimzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 28, 2002, 10:52 AM   #2

Hi Whimzie,
I use both Olympus and Canon (pre-digital days). Point n shoot pre-digital, I love Olympus' design of the Epic series. I used the old OM-2N of the old days. In the past several years, I use Canon's big/normal 35mm camera (Elan). That being said, on to digital...

I bought the S30 in October 2002, after much deliberation, research and numerous visits to locals shops to try my hands on them for my intended use (one handed operation on the bicycle & other every day use.) Disclaimer, I am biased toward a few camera manufacturers, so my research was targetted at very few camera candidates. Nearly a thousand images and AVI files later... I still love it! If D550 was smaller and use Compact Flash, I would most likely have bought it. Some thoughts... By the way, my 3 year old daughter use the camera as well.

I like D550 because...
It's Olympus. Good lens. Solid snap-on cover. Rugged and proven design. Red-eye reduction system (flickering flashes -- worked well for me in the past on 35mm Epic, and looked cool!) Very good price! Supposed to have better power management -- don't know if true.

I like S30 because...