Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Dec 3, 2002, 7:36 AM   #1

Default Is 4 Mega Pixels enough?

I really like the Canon G-3. I'm a little (maybe too much) hung up on the 4 vs 5 megapixel specification. There are several 5MP cameras in the same price range. I'm new to digital, but a long time photographer with a Canon EOS film system. I always have tried to use the finest grain films for the situation I am photographing. I use my slides frequently projected very large in lecture halls and auditoriums. I also enlarge and mount some of my better photos.

1. What is the theoretical size limit for an enlargement (print) of a 4MP camera 8x10, 11x14?

2. How much difference will there be on a projected image from a 4MP vs. 5MP camera in an auditorium where the images are typically 30 feet or even larger. Certainly the resolution of the projector and size of file will enter into the quality of the projected image as well.

If anyone could help me understand this better I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Frank
Frank Chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 5, 2002, 4:37 PM   #2

Default Re: Is 4 Mega Pixels enough?

Q: 1. What is the theoretical size limit for an enlargement (print) of a 4MP camera 8x10, 11x14?

2. How much difference will there be on a projected image from a 4MP vs. 5MP camera in an auditorium where the images are typically 30 feet or even larger. Certainly the resolution of the projector and size of file will enter into the quality of the projected image as well.

A: 1. This is very subjective. Some people are just fine with images I would consider to be way too mushy. Like film grain, digital pixels will begin to be visable to the naked eye at 4MP at different times depending on the ISO, fStop, and situation.