Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Dec 29, 2005, 6:15 PM   #1

First off , I should mention that I have been shooting for 40+ years in various pro and semi-professional capacities. I currently shoot outdoor horse events during the season here in Michigan using a Canon 20D and several L lenses. I decided I wanted a nice little camera to pack around on a daily basis just for the fun of it. A 30lb. backpack gets a little cumbersome for casual use photography.

I read as many opinions and PROBLEM threads as I could find,on this and other forums. I read several reviews, both paid and more importantly those from users. Next, I went out and did several hands on trials, to get the feel and "pretend" to use the controls. It is amazing how ignorant some sales clerks are as they try to sound like authorities on a given unit. Anyhow; I bought the S2 from Circuit City with a $50 rebate.

I also bought a 1Gb. SanDisk UltraII flash card. Canon gives you a set of cheap alkaline batteries to get you started, so I bought 8 NIMH batts and a 1 hour charger.

The size and quality of the lens was a prime reason for my choosing this camera. Learned a long time ago that good glass is critical. In use it is impressive. Having owned 3 or 4 Fixed lens (Point and shoot) I fully expected startup time to be irritatingly slow, 1st nice surprise - a tad over a second to start (including the lens extending).
The next nice surprise was - no appreciable shutter lag ! It is just plain not there.
As I work my way into the various functions and menus I find that Canon has indeed given us the first SERIOUS fixed lens digital.
the IS is very effective (within reason) and got me otherwise marginal shots. Zoom speed is fast when using the control.Fully extended brace the unit or a tripod for sure. IS isn't perfect and shouldn't be expected to compensate for camera movement in all situations.
Burst rate is very nice set on Hi-speed.