Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 2, 2006, 1:32 PM   #1

Hi. I'm a very amateur photographer and I have just gotten a Canon S2 IS. I've taken a lot of pictures so far, experimenting with some modes and changing some settings, but a lot of my images have a lot of noise in them. I notice more in darker color areas even when the images seem sharp. I've used the auto mode a lot too.

Also I was resizing the pictures and noticed the resolution was 72. Is that low? I've heard 300 is the minimum for good printability and 72 seems like a web-resolution.

Any help would be much appreciated. I still have a lot to learn from this camera. Thanks!
theroaringeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2006, 5:34 PM   #2

Hi,

Maybe try taking your pics in "P" mode - this will let you control the ISO which in turn controls the noise.Auto will usually choose a higher ISO.With any small CCD cams you will get noise in the shadows - not too noticable at print size A4.

The DPI has been discussed before and i still don't understand what all the fuss was about - but the conclusion was that the number did'nt matter - you still have the same resolution pic and printing DPI is up to the printer eg. 300 , 600 , whatever.
roxydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2006, 11:55 PM   #3

All small sensor cameras seem to suffer more from visible noise in underexposed areas. If you compare S2 samples to a DSLR's you can really see a huge difference in noise in the shadows.

You can get software that removes noise such as Neat Image or Noise Ninja. I haven't tried these yet - so I can't comment on how good they are.

One way to avoid noise is overexpose the image and adjust it later; another is to take multiple exposures at different settings and combine them; or take multiple exposures and average them. Here is an excellent summary:

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/noise.htm