Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 22, 2006, 6:48 PM   #1

Recently took my new S2 out for the first time (see photos in other thread) and have now just noticed a few things when looking at the photos, mainly of snow:

-yellow spots

-what seems like white spots of pixilization

-and a blueish edge around some subjects in the photo

The camera was mainly on SNOW MODE.

Any ideas as I am rather new at this?

EXAMPLE (mainly lower portion of photo):
Attached Images

MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2006, 7:56 AM   #2

30 views and not one suggestion? Is this called noise? Over exposure?
Old Jan 23, 2006, 8:49 AM   #3

Pretty hard to tell from a small low res shot on monitor. Your 'blueish' edges are called Chromatic Aberration it is a common problem on P&S cameras and needs to be corrected in Post processing. Remember any of the specialty modes are a 'best guess' algorithm for that situation.
Setiprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 7:01 PM   #4

Setiprime wrote:
Quote:
Pretty hard to tell from a small low res shot on monitor. Your 'blueish' edges are called Chromatic Aberration it is a common problem on P&S cameras and needs to be corrected in Post processing. Remember any of the specialty modes are a 'best guess' algorithm for that situation.
I am starting to wonder if it might be my monitor as I was looking at the shots on a better monitor today and didn't notice it, ice at all. However, I am taking to heart some of the suggestions in othre threads pertaining to not really letting the auto settings control you and to start learning to set settings myself.

Thanks for the heads up on the blue edges.
Old Feb 3, 2006, 12:47 AM   #5