Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 9, 2006, 3:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

Shot 78 images today, about 75 worked out like these, and there was a bit of shake in the remaining few (it was windy - I got pushed around). More examples coming.

Note: I included pixel-peeper inserts to show full res detail (compares well with any other x12 you care to name).

57mm, f/4.0, 1/1000 sec, EV -1/3, ISO 50.
(Full exif at http://www.MichealH.S2ISReference.PhotoShare.co.nz )
I fixed the perspective on this image.





81mm, f/5.6, 1/200, EV -1/3, ISO 50.
(Full exif at http://www.MichealH.S2ISReference.PhotoShare.co.nz )

mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 9, 2006, 11:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
vwmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 589
Default

Nice photos.
vwmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 12:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

169mm, f/5.6, 1/200 sec, ISO 50, EV -2/3.
(full exif at http://www.MichealH.S2ISReference.PhotoShare.co.nz )

Dialed back the gamma to 0.95 to darken the trees, reduced to 1024x768.
It was a cool day, so no problem with heat-haze. Wind was a bit of problem, but not too bad. Chaffers Marina is about 500m from the camera, and the hillside is about 1000m.

mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 1:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

Getting darker - weather starting to pack up.
111mm, f/4.5, 1/200 sec, EV -1/3, IS0 50
(Full exif at http://www.MichealH.S2ISReference.PhotoShare.co.nz )

mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 1:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

Almost forgot this one - shows how using a small aperture results in very good depth of field - everything from foreground to background is in focus.

79mm, f/8, 1/125, EV -1/3, ISO 50.
(full exif at http://www.MichealH.S2ISReference.PhotoShare.co.nz )
Over exposed to keep detail and reduce noise in the shadows (tried several shots) - detail inserts are at the original exposure level.
Dialed back the exposure a bit by adjusting gamma, reduced to 1024x768.

mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2006, 5:57 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Looks great.. Very nice composition, too. Nice!

Can't wait for mine to get here...
kdjoergensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2006, 9:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 243
Default

Ok I can NO longer help my self. If you can not see it you need a new moniter. If you have a good moniter and still are unable to see it then............ you are happy and that is all that matters.
videosilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2006, 5:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

We'll just have to agree to differ.

I've looked at pbase images similar to mine from the S2, H1, and the FZ5 and they all seem quite similar to anything I've produced here.

There is even a one to one comparison at

http://www.dcresource.com/specials/S2_vs_H1/index.shtml

And if you download the images, you'll find the exposure level is the biggest variation.

Post-processing doesn't make evaluations any easier at pbase or even at review sites. Not everyone documents what they've done. For example, I was looking at samples at dpreview, and I noticed if I downloaded one of their original images and used my software to reduce it to the same size as their dpreview displayed image, then their reduced version was sharper than I can produce via a resize using picassa or the Gimp. Maybe I have to find some better post-processing software or change my jpeg settings. I can get close to their result by applying a USM - I wouldn't think they would use a USM on images being reduced for sample purposes.
mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2006, 6:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
mrcoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 119
Default

I am an S2 owner myself and I am as happy with it as I was my S1. Does it take great pictures in all circumstances - no. But what point & shoot does?

My S2 is my backup to my Rebel XT and I probably use it 40% of the time and occasionally will use the movie mode.

As long as I don't need the flash my S2 takes pretty good shot. The last photo I've included was with a flash and I did not care for it. I went back in the house and got my Rebel & external flash and re-shot this one.





This next picture was shot thru a not so clean door, so it looks a trifle off but that's not the cameras fault.







I'm sure that the H1 and the FZ5 are fine cameras but I've always leaned towards Canon's after earlier experimentation with other brands.





mrcoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2006, 10:36 AM   #10
Member
 
JockScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Default

videosilva wrote:
Quote:
Ok I can NO longer help my self. If you can not see it you need a new moniter. If you have a good moniter and still are unable to see it then............ you are happy and that is all that matters.

I have a good monitor and these pictures appear sharp to me! Have you had your eyes checked recently?:roll:
JockScott is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.