Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 15, 2006, 12:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hi

I bought a canon s2 IS last month.

It was working fine with the canon 16 MB SD card.

Today I have bought a sandisk 2GB Sd card .Now I have two problem.

1. The camera is notidentifing the entire memory.Instead of 2gb it showing

just 970MB.

2. Very often I am getting error message "Memory card error "a and "card locked".

Please let me know.Is it the probelm with the card or with the cemera?

Please respond
anirban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2006, 12:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mrcoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 119
Default

Have you viewed the 2gb card from a card reader to see if the card is readable that way? (That would tell you if it was a card or camera problem.) If you do not have a card reader do you know someone that does?

Did you format the card from the camera when you first inserted it?


mrcoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2006, 1:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

If you haven't already done so, see page 19-21 of the manual an try the low level format procedure detailed on page 21.

In cases where the camera refuses to have anything to do with the card, I've seen a report from one person saying that a formatting on a PC fixed his card (perhaps the initial state of the card was such that the camera couldn't handle it, but a PC could). This may help in your case as well. I would also low level format in the camera afterwards (as an additional check and to make sure the camera will be happy long term).

Otherwise, people have reported that cameras (any brand) and cards (any brand) sometimes don't play well together. Quality control on the cards is suspected. In some cases trying another of the same brand or different brand often resolves the problem (still do the low level formatting).

Over time I suspect cards will fragment in the same way as any MS-DOS file-system, so the occasional reformat might be a good precaution.



mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 2:34 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hi

Thanks for prompt reply.

While I am trying to do low level formatting.

The camera is switched off automatically after some time.

What does it mean??

Do you have any idea??
anirban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 7:34 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

If the camera turns off during the format, try different batteries...

If you can, get a memory card reader... USB type thing, you should be able to find something in the $10 range... and test your card on your PC
SMP_Homer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 10:03 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Default

I had a new sandisk 1 gb SD card which quit after 1 month of use. I have a feeling that either the sandisk cards do poorly with this camera, or sandisk has a real quality problem on their hands, but I have switched entirely to Kingston cards now.
kdjoergensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 2:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
VAtechtigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 570
Default

I dont know about that. I think the majority of the normal consumers use Sandisk cards, as that is usually what is available at places like bestbuy and circuit city. I use the 2 gb card Sandisk Ultra II with my S2 with no issues.


VAtechtigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2006, 5:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

It doesn't take long to format a card. Either try and format in a PC, or if you've had enough, return it and get a replacement. As you can see from some of the replies, there are no consistent patterns on card failures. I suspect there are quality control issues for cards and that it's luck of the draw. I'm using a Transcend card 80xSpeed 1Gbyte with no problems after a low level format (in case that helps).

anirban wrote:
Quote:
Hi

Thanks for prompt reply.

While I am trying to do low level formatting.

The camera is switched off automatically after some time.

What does it mean??

Do you have any idea??
mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.