Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 23, 2006, 10:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default

I am having a hard time getting a good focus indoors (and in some cases, on those cloudy days, outside) with my S2. I don't believe in the "fog effect" and know it has to be something I am not doing correctly. I am very new to digital photography and, I have to admit, I have been using the AUTO feature and settings like INDOORS, SNOW etc. I am unsure how to use the P, TV etc. modes.

What am I doing wrong? Is it my camera? Where's the focus?

Here are two pics taken at my brother's wedding this weekend as examples:
Attached Images
 
MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 23, 2006, 10:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Another
Attached Images
 
MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 11:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ELDDJOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Default

Did you half depress the button to get a lock ? What is the actual issue ?


ELDDJOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 11:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default

I believe I did for the most part. The issue is getting good focus mainly indoors.
MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 12:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tullio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,370
Default

Well, I'm afraid you will be disappointed with the S2 performance in certain conditions when it comes to its AF. I've posted a couple of topics complaining about the AF while using macro. If nothing else, the camera should produce good quality pictures in AUTO mode since it's taking full control of the settings. This is obviously not your case. I can see the softness on both pictures (more so on the second one). I do believe the "fog effect" exists but it can be fixed by using color effect VIVID or custom with increased sharpness. However, I don't believe you have the choice when the camera is in AUTO. So, here's something you can try. Set the camera to P (it's the next most auto setting after AUTO), change the color effect to VIVID and the WB to flash. Take some pictures and see if the results look any better. I can almost guarantee you it will.
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 1:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

I've read that Auto isn't that great for all situations and it pays to use the special Scene-Modes such as Indoor or Portrait so that the camera can take account of any special conditions.

Kind of hard to tell much from such small images.

The second image seems to be a long zoom at a slow shutter speed - shake could be a problem. Because the aperture was full open, depth of field may also be a problem - especially if the camera wasn't pre-focused on the subject.

Tullio wrote:
Quote:
..
If nothing else, the camera should produce good quality pictures in AUTO mode since it's taking full control of the settings..
mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 1:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tullio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,370
Default

I've read the same thing about the S2 in AUTO mode, which to me is not good. I don't mind accounting for bad manual settings since it takes practice and experience from the photographer's part. However, I do believe thatany goodcamera shouldreproduce good quality images when in AUTO mode leaving the manual controls to the most experienced to obtain effects that would not be achievable otherwise (change in DOP, color saturation/effects, etc.).That's my personal opinion, of course.
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 6:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Thanks for the tips. I too agree that AUTO should produce better images. Here is another shot taken outside this time where I get some bad focus.

How do you post larger images?
Attached Images
 
MrGarmonbozia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 8:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Tullio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,370
Default

I am not sure if the picture softnessproduced bythe S2 (a.k.a. "the fog effect") is what you consider out of focus. I sharpened it with Picasa (see below)and it looks pretty good. Did you set the camera to P and color effect to VIVID or custom with +sharpening? If not, I highly suggest you do. I think you'll find that the pictures will be much clearer (sharper). If the bench shot was out of focus, PP would not be able to really do much to fix.
Attached Images
 
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 8:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

Tullio wrote:
Quote:
I've read the same thing about the S2 in AUTO mode, which to me is not good. I don't mind accounting for bad manual settings since it takes practice and experience from the photographer's part. However, I do believe thatany goodcamera shouldreproduce good quality images when in AUTO mode leaving the manual controls to the most experienced to obtain effects that would not be achievable otherwise (change in DOP, color saturation/effects, etc.).That's my personal opinion, of course.
Well in fareness to any superzoom - it's difficult for the camera to know what to optimise for under any given situation. I guess this is why sports mode is making a come back on the S3 IS. This would be less of a problem in non-superzoom cameras (less zoom, = more light, = faster shutter speeds, shorter ranges to the subject, better DOF) - but then again people write that the A620 isn't that great on Auto and recommend Av/Tv/P or special-modes. Perhaps Canon is particulary bad with their Auto mode - I don't know.

Reflecting again on the images posted above - it's hard to tell much because they are so small. My guess would either be the camera picked the wrong focus spot, either because of low light, the subjects were moving, or the subjects were not originally in the middle of the image, or the pre-focus spot was poorly chosen. And shake may be an issue if you are not used to using the camera. It would be interesting to try experimenting with similar shots on the Indoors setting when not under so much pressure of the moment.
mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:09 AM.