Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 8, 2006, 6:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Default

My S2 IS frequently tells me the batteries are low, or worse, won't operate at all and tells me I need to change the batteries. This even happens with batteries fresh out of the charger. I am certain the problem lies with the camera, not the batteries. Usually I can temporarily solve the problem by taking out the batteries and then putting the same batteries right back in, but this is a huge hassle. Any thoughts on what might be going on?
AcornMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2006, 12:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Had a battery problem also.

While trying to download pictures my computer poped up a message saying

camera had shut down due to low batteries. Yet now they work just fine,

made a movie and many pictures since. Also light on camera was still on when message was displayed. Is this common ?

James
jcotton55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2006, 7:16 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 163
Default

When I first got my S2 I also bought new batteries. I think I saw this problem once in the first few months and thought nothing of it. But as we entered winter (southern hemisphere), it started happening more often - perhaps once a month. So it could be that the batteries are colder or older. But yes, I think the camera may be over sensitive in this respect. If I just cycle the power the camera will often stop complaining.

I am in the habit of aways cleaning the battery contacts, both before rechanging, and before putting in the camera - I think this is quite important because the contacts in the camera seem quite small, and the manual specifically mentions keeping the batteries and contacts clean.
mchnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2006, 11:11 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Looks like I may have found the answer on a different forum. Have a look here:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=19130527

In short, this appears to be a common problem with the S2 IS and even the new S3 IS. The problem seems to be weak battery contacts, not a software or other complex problem.
AcornMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2006, 8:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 46
Default

Seems my S2 wants batteries now. I'll put in a new set before I use it again.

Got 85 pics, 3 160 avi's, sounds okay to me for the batteries that came with it.

Seems my stlye uses a lot of power, figure I'll just take pics after it warns

about low batteries the first time.

All in all one amazing Camera !

James


jcotton55 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:32 AM.