Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jul 13, 2006, 5:55 PM   #1

I am going to the airshow tomorrow. What setting should I use with my S3 is in order to get the shots and minimize noise?
Sp33dFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 14, 2006, 6:40 AM   #2

minimize noise, use as low an ISO as you can

which ISO level to use and what settings will vary based on mainly what the sky/sun will look like wherever you are for this airshow...

Big bright sun and a blue sky will require different settings than a partially or fully cloudy sky would...
SMP_Homer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2006, 7:30 AM   #3

thanks for the tip! It will definitely be a big, bright sun and blue sky. Planes will be coming in low and fast, as well as streaking upward. Can you suggest a starting ISO? I'm brand new to SLR-type nomenclature. I really was hoping to mostly use automatic settings, like the sport setting, but when I tried that sport setting (supposed to be good for action shots), they were really grainy. The free noiseware someone suggested was very helpful, but I'd really rather not have to go through the additional time-absorbing steps. I've had the camera 2 weeks now and am still wondering if I should trade for a Sony DSC-H5. I read bad things on the reviews about them too, as well as the Panasonic Fz27. Seems as though you have to get into manual settings to use any of the 12x zoom cameras.

I have been getting some stunning shots though too. . . . Just have to really play around with it. I upgraded from a Nikon Coolpix 5700, 5MP, 8x zoom. That camera took the best quality pics I've seen . . definitely up to par from my Pentax Point and Shoot film camera. Didn't have enough zoom for me though, as I really like scenery.

Dana
Old Jul 14, 2006, 1:58 PM   #4