Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old May 12, 2003, 11:47 PM   #1

Default Discrepancies about the S400

I'm a little confused about some of the negative posts on this board regarding the Canon Digial Elph S400. Every professional review I read has given this camera rave reviews -- including the photo quality in nearly all conditions (despite its size) -- yet a number of posts on this board have claimed significant flaws with the picture quality. What gives? Are you people really using the camera properly?

I purchased this camera about a month ago and have been utterly happy with my decision. For starters, I don't think there is a more ergonomic compact camera on the market (by "ergonomic" I am including both physical and the software/menu aspects). I didn't even need the manual to figure out how to take nice photos and play them back. And I'm no expert. Kudos to Canon for excellent industrial engineering.

The quality of the photos has been superb -- indoors, outdoors, close-up, and even with the flash. I've taken pictures of people, big objects, small objects, through glass (window) -- you name it. Red-eye is hardly noticeable (if at all) -- absolutely amazing for such a small camera. Clarity is excellent (with the exception of a few photos that I screwed up on the automatic focus lock). And the color is vivid.

Another very handy feature that is frequently overlooked is the integration to Canon printers (which are also some of the best in their category). Just hook up the cable directly to the camera and you can print photos right off the S400's LCD screen. This is far easier than even the memory-card readers built into some of the nicer printers. I have a Canon 530D printer and find this to be a VERY handy feature.

My only 2 gripes -- both minor at that -- are: