Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 16, 2006, 3:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hi All,

I am deciding whether to purchase a A620 it seems perfect except for ONE thing having used a DSC-V1 now I am used to a histogram in record mode. and Canon seems to not like them only for the S80 which is a little expensive right now :lol:

and then finally theres the Canon A620 which is just had a price cut on Amazon UK

BUT

there's no histogram :?

plus they seem a bit plastic like yes I know there not ALL plastic

and worst of all I hate the idea of purchasing an A620 only to find in mid August, when the A95 and A610/ A620 were announced that there is a new better version

Being a month or so is the any news should I wait for 6 weeks or so ?

Is there any news or gossip or these NEW models

cheers

P











pchomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2006, 5:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
flippedgazelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 930
Default

Hmm, you're right, I guess it is almost time for a replacement for the A620. Hopefully it will have better high ISO capability.

Even though the A620 is part plastic, it is a real quality piece - in both looks and feel.

One thing to consider is that the A620 is available now for around $200 USD, and I'd bet that if a replacement comes soon, it will sell for nearly $100 more.
flippedgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2006, 7:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92
Default

There is a histogram in the A620, but like any DSLR it's not live.

Just display the image and push the display button twice.
Ikki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2006, 4:06 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hi IKKi,

yes your right but everyone else has alive one in record mode these days wellPentax, Casio, and Olympus to name a few, so come on Canon join the new age :lol:

Does everyone think that the A620/A610 is perfect, no one wants improvements ?


pchomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2006, 1:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 438
Default

I have an A610 and the only improvements I would make are fixingthe horrible hissing noise in videos and add the ability to shoot in 3:2 aspect ratio. And less noise at ISO400. One more... more compression on videos. They are huge.

I really like the look and feel of the camera even if it is plastic.
luisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2006, 4:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92
Default

If I were to change the A610/620 I would do the following:

1. An higher resolution LCD that can be seen in bright sunlight.
2. A megapixel EVF (not so important if point 1 is achieved).
3. 24mm (or at least 28mm) at the wide end.
4. Telephoto macro down to about 15cm.
5. Image stabilisation.
6. As mentioned above, better high iso performance.

Other than that it's close to perfect.
Ikki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2006, 6:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 438
Default

That would be a different camera. :?
luisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2006, 7:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92
Default

That's usually what happens when you change something! :lol:
Ikki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2006, 8:38 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 68
Default

I've had my A620 for 8 months now and am really happy with it. A nice set of manual controls. I wish it allowed the shutter to be open longer though. 15 seconds is limiting for me.
Pickwick is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:17 PM.