Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Casio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 5, 2006, 11:51 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

aredt wrote:
Quote:
I'm considering the Z850.

Can I use a Sandisk Ultra II 2 GB SD card? The Sandisk Product Compatibility page says, "SDHC compatible using Firmware update. Check with device manufacturer."
yes you can after upgrad firmware to 1.1 or 1.1B

but after upgrade.. picture quality will downgrade

read this topic for more detail

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/re...ssage=20716938


Quote:
Can I force Flash = ON when I'm in Autofocus mode?
yes ,

press menu..at "REC" go down to last topicthat say "memory" enter it

at first topic is "flash" enter and set it to "on"

it will save status of flash setting
JohnKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2006, 1:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
flippedgazelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Camera isn't recognized in computer: Casio cameras will only work in the back USB ports of your computer.
That makes no sense at all. I know 2 individuals who have plugged their Casio cameras into the fron USB ports on multiple PCs.
flippedgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2006, 4:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 4,036
Default

flippedgazelle wrote:
Quote:
Quote:
Camera isn't recognized in computer: Casio cameras will only work in the back USB ports of your computer.
That makes no sense at all. I know 2 individuals who have plugged their Casio cameras into the fron USB ports on multiple PCs.
I would take issue with "only". It is sometimes a good troubleshoot to use the regular rear ports when you are having problems with a device plugged either into a hub or the front ports. I think it is more computer dependent than device brand dependent though.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2006, 5:44 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Sir can you send me a picture of what inside the card slot of the camera just for comparison i might a have defective card maybe a bend slot.. for my Exilim EX-Z850 Thank you.
hazelnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 7:52 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thought I'd try the Casio Tech!!:

After uploading pictures, turning off camera, then unplugging USB cable, camera will not work.

It's like it thinks it's still in PC mode. Green light on, nothing else works. Like it's still connected to the computer via the USB cable.

The only time I can get the LCD to light up is if i hold menu down whilst turning it on (to view firmware) The camera hasn't been dropped or mistreated.

To make matters worse, I borrowed my Dad's camera, same model, and the same thing happened after I uploaded pictures from that camera.

I now have TWO qv-R51's in the same state.

Can anyone help me 'reset' or something?? Takingout batteries or swapping SD cards does nothing.....

Thanks



EDIT:

Just realized I was using the wrong USB cable when I uploaded the photos. I used a cable that came with a Palm Pilot. (Same connecter)

When the computer is off, and the camera is connected to the USB (with any cable!) it works! As soon as the computer is turned on, or the USB cable is pulled out, it goes back to PC mode.

Did the wrong cable somehow reverse the logic? And how do I get it back to normal???

Thanks, Susan

suebar00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 8:01 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 4,036
Default

Hi Susan:

With it hooked up with the correct cable try right clicking on the drive letter in My Computer or Windows Explorer and selecting "Eject". That might reset the camera.

If that doesn't help leave the battery out for a longer time – like 24 hours or so.

It would seem our tech is gone.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2006, 8:25 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks. I did the 'eject' thing, but that didn't help. I'll leave the batteries out for a few days. Does this camera have an internal battery that I don't know about?

While the batteries are out of camera 1, I still have camera 2 to try things on if anyone has anymore ideas!

Thanks, Susan




suebar00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2006, 4:41 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Our cameras will only use SD, Panasonic, and Toshiba memory cards.
Uhh........what? I dunno what Casio tells you guys and what agenda is behind it, but i use a transend card, 2 of them in fact. An one and a two gig. And they work flawlessly and are NOT one of the "big 3" (as someone else called them) rebadged. Transcend uses a different and unique technlogy than them which if what casio told you is true would be even more likely not to work. I seriously doubt there is a card out there my 750 wouldn't use just fine, not counting of course cards made to very low levels of quality tht would be problematic in any camera. You may work for Casio, but my experience shows that they won't tell thier employees much more than Joe citizen, especially those employees that talk to the public, because they are likely afraid this would compromise certain secrets they'd rather the public didn't know.
dazco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 2:22 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Hi CasioTech, I hope you are still around.

I am interested in Casio Z850 for it's Mpeg4 video recording.

I wonder at 640x480 30frs, how many minutes of videocan a 1Gb card stored?

This will help me to decide whether or not to buy Z850. Thanks.


MYJulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 10:38 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Default

MYJulie wrote:
Quote:
Hi CasioTech, I hope you are still around.

I am interested in Casio Z850 for it's Mpeg4 video recording.

I wonder at 640x480 30frs, how many minutes of videocan a 1Gb card stored?

This will help me to decide whether or not to buy Z850. Thanks.

According to http://www.exilim.de/de/exilimzoom/e...pecifications/, a 1GB card should be able to store slightly more than 30 minutes.
ex-spex is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:19 AM.